Olympic Council of Malaysia (OCM) has approved a big squad of 14 cyclists for the track cycling competition, which will take place at the newly built Anna Meares Velodrome in Queensland.

Reigning world champion Azizul­hasni Awang, who will ride in keirin and sprint, hopes to win his first Commonwealth Games gold. In Glasgow four years ago, he took bronze in the keirin and will surely be looking to improve on the colour in Gold Coast.

Mohd Fadhil Mohd Zonis, Shariz Efendi Shahrin and Muhd Khairil Nizam Rasol will ride in the men’s team sprint while Fatehah and Farina Shawati Mohd Adnan will combine for the women’s team sprint.

More at The Star