Pocketroket man, Azizulhasni Awang wins Malaysia”s first Sprint gold at the Asian Games 2018. (TheStar)

Affectionately known as ”Pocketroket man”, Malaysia”s Track Cyclist Mohd Azizulhasni Awang won the gold medal in the men’s Sprint of the 2018 Asian Games at the Jakarta International Velodrome, East Jakarta.

Azizulhasni goes down in history as the first Malaysian to win the Track Cycling Sprint medal at the Asian Games. He defeated Japanese cyclist Tomohiro Fukaya with two best time records of 10.401 seconds and 10.204 seconds in the final round of the gold medal race. Tomohiro Fukuya had to settle for the silver medal.

Meanwhile, the bronze medal was won by Republic of Korea cyclist Chaebin Im, who had to compete three times in the final round of third place against another Malaysian cyclist Muhammad Shah Firdaus.

In his pet event the Keirin, Azizulhasni lucked out and lost the gold to Thai cyclist Jai Angsuthasawit. Angsuthasawit came out as the fastest in the last 200 meters with a time of 10.029 seconds amoung world class cyclists Yudai Nitta from Japan, Chaebin Im from Korea (KOR) and Mohd Azizulhasni Awang from Malaysia in the six-lap race.

Japanese cyclist Yudai Nitta finished second with a thin margin of 0.003 seconds slower while Azizulhasni settled for bronze with a difference of 0.062 seconds.

Azizulhasni also reaped a silver from the men”s Team Sprint event with Muhammad Shah Firdaus Sahrom and Muhammad Fadhil Zonis at the games. Tomohiro Fukuya had to settle for the silver medal.

Source: Asian Games and The Star.