Former world track cycling champion Mohd Azizulhasni Awang was awarded another accolade to add to his palmarès winning the Olympian of the Year 2018. 

Rhythmic gymnast Amy Kwan was also declared female Olympian of the Year 2018 at the 25th Olympic Council of Malaysia (OCM) Annual Dinner and Awards Night. The prize of RM10,000 cash and special medals were awarded by the Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail. 


Affectionately known as the ‘Pocket Rocketman’, Azizul also won three medals at the recent 2018 Jakarta-Palembang Asian Games – winning gold in sprint, silver in men’s team sprint and bronze in keirin.

However, Azizul was not present at the ceremony as he was participating the Track World Cup championship held in London, where he won silver in his pet Keirin event. 

Azizul goes down in the history books as the third cyclist to win the award since its introduction in 1993. The previous two were Josiah Ng (2004) and Fatehah Mustapa (2017). 

The award is to honour the most outstanding male and female athletes who participated in multi-sports Games under OCM’s jurisdiction, such as the Olympics, Asian Games, Commonwealth Games and SEA Games.

Source: Bernama