Brendon Davids (Oliver’s Real Food Racing) won Stage 3 of Jelajah Malaysia.

Oliver’s Real Food Racing (Aus) notched their first stage win at Jelajah Malaysia thanks to a dominant performance from Brendon Davids in the third stage today.

Davids switched from mountain bike to road recently, was in fine form in the 141.5km stage which started in the Royal town of Perak, Kuala Kangsar and ended in Kulim, Kedah. The South African left his opponents in the dust as he powered up the first climb (cat 3) at Bukit Sumpitan (63km) and was unstoppable from there as he went into time trial mode en route to a solo victory in 3:20:15s.

Malaysian rider Fauzan Ahmad Lutfi who was third in the second stage, finished in second place (+2:16s) while Sapura’s Aiman Cahyadi (+2:19s) completed the podium.

Davids said it was memorable win having recently joined the Australian outfit.

“I took a lot of risks on the downhill sections and reached 100 km/h at some points. The guys (chasing group) left it a little bit late, (maybe because) I am still quite unknown here, this is only my second race (after moving).

“The climbs suited me, the longer they are, the more I could get into a rhythm. Tomorrow’s going to be a tough day and I am not sure how my body is going to react after a big effort today, we’ll just have to wait and see.” continued Davids.

Brendon Davids moves into the coveted yellow jersey, Nur Amirul, Muhd Zawawi Azman, Ryan Thomas maintains their green, red and grey jersey respectively.

Davids now leads the general classification and has a 1:02s advantage over second placed Ryan
Thomas, who is also his teammate. Thomas stressed that the duo will be going all out in the penultimate stage tommorow.

“It was a very hard day, obviously harder for Brandon who was out there alone in front. Tomorrow’s going to be even tougher, obviously me and Brandon aren’t going to give up and will give it our best.” said Thomas.

The 101.3km stage from Kulim to Gunung Jerai tommorow will features a 1,217m climb and is
likely to decide the overall winner of Jelajah Malaysia this year.