With just 44 days to go until the start of the London 2012 Olympics, the British Olympic Association (BOA) has announced today 18 cyclists as officially selected to represent Team GB at the Games.

The cyclists selected today will compete across the Track Cycling, BMX and Mountain Biking disciplines, which will take place at the Olympic Park Velodrome, BMX Track and Hadleigh Farm venues respectively.

Today’s announcement was made at the National Cycling Centre in Manchester, the home of British Cycling and the GB Cycling Team. The cyclists selected to Team GB today are:

Track (Sprint):

Philip Hindes (19: born: Krefeld, Germany)
Chris Hoy (age: 36 born: Edinburgh)
Jason Kenny (age: 24 born: Bolton)
Victoria Pendleton (age: 31 born: Hitchin)
Jessica Varnish (age: 21 born: Birmingham)

Track (Endurance):

Steven Burke (age: 24 born: Burnley)
Edward Clancy (age: 27 born: Barnsley)
Wendy Houvenaghel (age: 37 born: Magherafelt)
Peter Kennaugh (age: 22 born: Isle of Man)
Danielle King (age: 21 born: Southampton)
Joanna Rowsell (age: 23 born: Carshalton)
Andrew Tennant (age: 25 born: Wolverhampton)
Geraint Thomas (age: 26 born: Cardiff)
Laura Trott (age: 19 born: Harlow)


Liam Phillips (age: 23 born: Taunton)
Shanaze Reade (age: 23 born: Crewe)

Cross Country Mountain Biking:

Liam Killeen (age: 30 born: London)
Annie Last (age: 21 born: Nottingham)