HISTORIC: Team win five of six stages

CyclingIndividual classification winners Yusup Abrekov (centre), Adiq Husainie Othman (right) and Dadi Suryadi. Pic by Mokhsin AbidinTHE Terengganu Cycling Team completed an historic sweep of five of the six stages after a thrilling end to the Jelajah Malaysia yesterday as Suren Uzbekistan Team’s Yusup Abrekov confirmed his overall victory.

The Terengganu outfit closed accounts by taking the top three places in the final stage through Shinichi Fukushima, Harrif Salleh and Zamri Salleh.

The final stage was a 199.5km tussle all the way from Ipoh to Merdeka Square, which saw Australian Jai Crawford of the RTS Racing put in a gallant effort to try and overturn his 21-second deficit against overall leader Abrekov.

Crawford, 29, drove a breakaway group of seven riders that included eventual stage winner Shinichi Fukushima, Putra Perjuangan’s Dadi Suryadi and Arin Iswana, CCN Cycling Team’s Fito Bakdo Prilanji, Aisan Racing Team’s Nozomu Kimori and Polygon-Sweet Nice’s Agung Riyanto.

The seven riders had formed an alliance to sweep all the intermediate sprints and two categorised climbs along the route, allowing Dadi to confirm his mountains classification victory, while Crawford and Fukushima were more interested in the battle for the general classification.

Continue reading at NST