Ministry of Youth and Sports Secretary General YBhg Dato’ Lokman Hakim has revealed that the 22nd edition of Le Tour de Langkawi will be held from February 22 to March 1, 2017.
The 8 stages will be run from a Wednesday to Wednesday format, approved by the UCI (Union Cycliste Internationale). This format will allow more opportunity to attract big teams to LTdL as it only involves one weekend.
Dato’ Lokman Hakim was present at the ministry to award prizes for the ‘Sorakan Semangat LTdL 2016’, a competition in search for the best cheer held in conjunction with Le Tour de Langkawi 2016 which was held successfully from February 24 to March 2 earlier this year.

Prizes were awarded for best cheers from schools and villages along the Le Tour de Langkawi 2016 route.

Sekolah Menengah Sains Tapah and Kampung Guntong MK Lumbok has emerged as winners of their respective categories as the competition was introduced among villages and schools to promote LTdL and its sponsors to the community along the route alongside the return of the popular LTdL cavalcade.
“From the overwhelming support LTdL have received throughout the 8 stages, it is likely to have provided a tremendous boost to the spirits of our national riders to achieving extraordinary success in 2016,” said Dato’ Lokman.

Adiq Husainie Othman (TSG) won the Best Asian Rider Jersey in white for the first time in Le Tour de Langkawi’s history.

“Terengganu Cycling Team’s Adiq Husanie became the first Malaysian rider to win Best Asian rider after 20 years of organizing this race, while Loh Sea Keong representing the Malaysia National team won the Best Combative rider on three occasions,” he added.