The Malaysian National Cycling Federation (MNCF) presented a young line-up to the upcoming prestigious Le Tour de Langkawi 2019 (LTdL 2019). However, they confident that the Malaysian National Team will be able to reap at least a podium spot in the eight-stage race.

MNCF President, Datuk Abu Samah Abd Wahab said that Nik Mohd Azwan Zulkiflie is convinced that the stage win could come in the Queen stage which carries a Hors-Classe (HC) climb.

“Last year, Nik won a podium spot in the stage from Kota Bharu to Kuala Terengganu. I believe that it was not a freak win, as he is very experienced” said the MNCF President.

MNCF is the organiser of LTdL 2019 while Human Voyage has been appointed by the Ministry of Youth and Sports to be the event manager.

Abu Samah who is also Honorary Vice President of the Asia Cycling Confederation (ACC) believes that the win by Nik Mohd Azwan at the Tour of Thailand (ToT 2016) and the SEA Games 2017 (KL 2017) will provide some confidence.

“I’m placing high hopes in Nik to guide the team. Sofian Nabil too has vast experience in racing internationally, ” continued the MNCF President.

When asked about the targets for LTdL 2019, Abu Samah emphasised that the federation did not set high expectations to the raw and inexperienced young squad.

“Four out of six cyclists are very young and inexperienced. I believe many have not heard their names. However, with the expertise and guidance from their coach (Mohd Yusof), I believe Nik and Sofian Nabil will be able to share their knowledge to the young ones.” he concluded.

Squad List for the Malaysian National Team to Le Tour de Langkawi 2019 (LTdL 2019)

  • Manager : Amrun Misnoh
  • Coach : Mohd Yusof Nasir
  • Cyclists : Nik Mohd Azwan Zulkiflie, Sofian Nabil Omar, Zamirul Adlisham Zulkefli, Nurfitri Amar Rosli, Shahmir Aiman Abdul Halim and Azli Najmi Zulkefli.