Malaysia’s Track Cycling team started off the KL SEA Games 2017 with 3 golds and 1 bronze. (KL2017)

The Malaysian Track Cycling team had a good haul with three out of four gold medals at stake on the first day of the 2017 SEA Games Track Cycling competition at the National Velodrome in Nilai, Negeri Sembilan.

Malaysian’s favourite duo Fatehah Mustapa and Farina Shawati Adnan lived up to golden expectations when they won the women’s team sprint in 34.671s ahead of Indonesia and Thailand.

Fatehah said that it was a good start for her at the 2017 SEA Games which will serve as a booster to perform well in her next three events. The 28 year-old cyclist has three more events, namely the individual sprint keirin and 500 meter sprint.

“I want to be the first woman cyclist to win all the four events which I take part at the Games. The win today will motivate me to perfrom better after this. I want to win four gold medals,” said Fatehah.

At the 2011 SEA Games in Palembang, Fatehah delivered three gold medals for Malaysia in the track event.

Meanwhile, the men’s Sprint team ended a 10-year wait when they put up a strong performance to win the gold for Malaysia in the event. The last time Malaysian cyclist won the event was at the 2007 Games in Korat, Thailand through Azizulhasni Awang, Junaidi Mohamad Nasir and Muhammad Edrus Md. Nasir.

This time, the gold for the event was delivered by national up-coming star in Mohd. Shariz Efendi Mohd. Shahrin, Mohd. Fadhil Mohd. Zonis and Mohd. Khairil Nizam Rasol. They wrapped up the race with a fastest time of 44.776s, to beat the Thais and Indonesia.

Earlier in the day, Irwandi Lakasek opened Malaysia’s account with a gold medal in the Scratch race. Meanwhile, Jupha Somnet had to settle for a bronze in the women’s Omnium final despite having won the Scratch and Tempo race for the event.

Source: KL2017