KUALA LUMPUR, Oct 22, 2011 –  After five gruelling days, the second edition of the Langkawi International Mountainbike Challenge (LIMBC) came to a close today with Germany’s Karl Platt and Switzerland’s Nathalie Schneitter clinching overall victory in the men’s elite and women’s elite categories, respectively.

Platt of Team Bulls was a dominant force in his category, winning Stage 2 and Stage 4 – the king of the hill and never finished outside the top three throughout the entire event to take home the top prize, with a total cash prize of US$16,450, including US$15,000 as the overall winner.

The world No 7 was second on Stage 1, twice on top of the podium on Stage 2 and 4, third on Stage 3 and second on Stage 5 to clock a cumulative time of 7hrs 2:25mins.

Runners-up was South Africa’s World No 6, Burry Stander, of Team Specialized, who won today’s Stage 5, the 12-lap cross country 19km criterium but finished 3.45mins behind Platt, overall. Third was Italy’s Johnny Cattaneo of Full-Dynamix with a cumulative time of 7:11.04.

World No 8 Schneitter of Colnago Farbe Sudtirol, was unquestionably the MTB queen of Langkawi as she bagged four stage titles, with Stage 5 today as the icing on the cake.

Mounting the highest podium on Stages 1, 2, 3 and 5, Schneitter’s only blemish occurred on Day 4 when compatriot and team mate Vivienne Meyer reached the summit of Gunung Raya, 838m above sea level, ahead of the pack.

Schneitter’s splendid performance earned her a total of US$8,610, including US$7,000 as the women’s elite top performer.

In the men’s senior master, the overall winner was Craig Peacock of Australia, followed by runners-up Lieb Loots of South Africa’s Squirt and Adelaide Mountainbike Club’s John Edwin Allison.

In the men’s master category, Marzio Deho of Team Olympia Italy emerged tops with a total time of 6:50.53, followed by Britain’s Anthony White of Canondale Mount Zoom Racing and Malcolm McLeod (R and R Sport) New Zealand.

LIMBC 2011 featured five stages that began with Stage 1 on Tuesday with the 62km round island race, followed by the cross country Olympic which started and finished at Kampung Tok Senik Resort as Stage 2, Stage 3 a cross country Olympic at Telaga Harbour Park, Pantai Kok, followed by the lung-bursting 28km ride to the summit of Gunung Raya as stage 4 and culminating with the short circuit 19km criterium of 12 laps around Stadium Langkawi.